Another day older

UPDATE: Sarah is taking some much-needed time to focus on, improve, and heal herself. She’s safe and taking care of business. I cannot wait to speak with her on the phone this afternoon!

My bestie earned another trip around the sun 27 June. If the screenshots I posted seem a bit…cryptic…that’s because I didn’t know what to say. In fact, I had no clue where she was because I haven’t spoken to her since the end of April. Questions constantly run through my mind. I don’t want to divulge too much of her business in case she’s deliberately lying low, so let’s just leave it at that.
What a year it’s been for Sarah.

A month shy of the one-year anniversary of her husband’s untimely passing, it’s her birthday. I can’t help but think of her at this time last year– blissfully unaware that her world was about to come crashing down as she and Patrick celebrated her special day. Summers are bittersweet for us both. I hate the fact that she’s now a member of this club which no one wants to belong.

Considering our friendship has been going strong for 20 years, the better part of my life has included Sarah. Her category on this blog doesn’t begin to do her justice. he comprises such an important part of my Universe. Her role in my life cannot be overstated. She brings me joy and laughter. Her friendship is irreplacable.

Sarah, I deliberately kept this post [and the details] brief. Just know that I love you to the moon and back and am eternally grateful for your friendship. Wherever you are on your journey, I respect the process and support you unconditionally. I hope this time next year we’ll be laughing together at the– what even is the word?!— that was much of our 2023. I love you. 💖

With infinite love, gratitude, and respect,

Sloane

About Cocktails With Hemingway

I'm blunt and opinionated. Virtually everything I say or do is a contradiction but I'm not a hypocrite. I never hesitate to speak my mind and never fail to leave an impression wherever I go. You love me, you hate me, but you'll never forget me.
This entry was posted in Da Real Homiez, Grief, Sarah Bestie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another day older

  1. Allen Williams says:

    I’m just glad that she’s okay. I was worried for a minute.

Leave a comment