Black Balloon Day 2020

blackballoon

I find Black Balloon Day filled with mixed emotions.  Any occasion where you commemorate loved ones who are no longer with us evokes bittersweet feelings– you cannot revel in the memories without facing the reality that they are no longer in this realm.  However, we need this day.  Drug overdose is the leading cause of accidental death in the United States.  We have made great strides as a society to de-stigmatize addiction but there is still so much work to be done.  Black Balloon Day serves as a reminder that not everyone survives their battle….and those deaths are not a source of secrecy or shame.

0

Dave. Angelica. Rick. Jessica. Warren.

These are five individuals whom I have lost due to overdose.  Pictured are some of my closest friends, a beloved ex with whom I spent over a year of my life, a person who made an unforgettable impact in my recovery, and the first friend I knew to die from overdosing on heroin.  Though I only included some people, the actual death toll is higher.  Not everyone accepts their loved one died from a drug or alcohol overdose– and that is their prerogative.  I will honor the families and only discuss those ‘open’ about the circumstances surrounding their relative’s untimely passing.  If you factor in everyone I know who has died as a direct result of drugs and alcohol [suicide, murder, other tragic events]– but not an actual overdose– the numbers continue to climb.  No one is immune.

blackballoonday

Memphis Area Prevention Coalition fights in the trenches to combat the epidemic decimating our society.  They’re heading to Sycamore View to bring a message of hope tonight.  Even if I am not able to attend I want to spread awareness about the event.  It is never too late to find recovery.  I am living proof.  #wedorecover

P.S.  I cannot emphasize enough how crucial it is to carry Narcan if you or someone you love is a heroin [or any opiate] user. 

 

With infinite love, gratitude, and respect,

Sloane

About Cocktails With Hemingway

I'm blunt and opinionated. Virtually everything I say or do is a contradiction but I'm not a hypocrite. I never hesitate to speak my mind and never fail to leave an impression wherever I go. You love me, you hate me, but you'll never forget me.
This entry was posted in * R. i. P. *, Addiction, Da Real Homiez, Death, Memphis, USA, Z and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment